Double-click to start typing
Double-click to start typing
Double-click to start typing
Double-click to start typing
Double-click to start typing

Jazz Syndicate Promotions

 UK- USA - South Africa

Richard Earnshaw - #6 20th Anniversary Mix Series

Release Date: 03 February 2017

Label : BBE

Available on Digital Downloads

Soulful house maestro and one-half of chart-topping outfit Spiritchaser, Richard Earnshaw delivers the 6th instalment of our anniversary mix series. Delving deep into BBE's back catalogue, Richard selects vintage cuts from label mainstays Masters At Work, DJ Spinna and Kon, as well as spotlighting lesser known titles from Vaitea & Ghostchant. Far from a 'straight-up' House mix, Earnshaw explores a variety of flavours and tempos, glued together with that vital, highly distinctive musical touch with which he's made his name.

It's another very cool release from UK based label BBE perfect for the upmarket dance floors,

Aja - Ketch A Vibe

Yusseff Kamaal - Black Focus

Release Date : November 4

Label : Brownswood Recordings

Available On : C D,Vinyl & Digital Downloads

Although this album came out in 2016,it is making a huge impact in the world of the taste makers of 2017.

Yussef Kamaal is the South London duo of drummer/percussionist Yussef Dayes and Kamaal Williams (Henry Wu) on Rhodes piano and synth.

The former is best known for his work as kit man for cosmic Afrobeat ensemble United Vibrations. The latter is also a producer whose dubplates have garnered wide-ranging critical notice. Gilles Peterson signed them to Brownswood based on witnessing a 20-minute live set.

The music on Black Focus is a seamless weave of spiritual jazz funk, broken beat, and global sounds, but it's also more and less. The duo enlisted a who's-who of South London all-stars to assist in various spots: Saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings, trumpeter Yelfris Valdes, bassists Tom Driessler and Kareem Dayes, and guitarist Mansur Brown. The set was produced and engineered by the Heliocentrics' Malcolm Catto. The music is inspired by the distinctly British sources its creators grew up on -- jungle, U.K. garage and grime, hip-hop, post-Joe Harriott British jazz, and the sound of underground radio. 

The intro to the opening title track begins in the abstract with Gordon Weddenburn's spoken word as the horns fill space (think Joe McPhee’s sax/trumpet duos) amid twinkling Rhodes and hand percussion. Halfway through, kit drums enter the exchange and frame a bumping bassline, a two-chord jazz keyboard riff, and horns that move to a post-bop frontline; the whole jam gets transformed into a sweet, soulful groover. Single "Lowrider" is a funky meld of bass, vamping guitar chords, and swirling synths atop snare-heavy breaks before it becomes a 21st century take on Azymuth-esque fusion. Brown adds a brilliant, arpeggio-rich solo to cap it. "Strings of Light" delivers jungly breakbeat science that ushers in a quick, trance-like pulse amid a rippling bassline and wafting synths. The exploratory urgency of Valdes' horn breaks the mood and the tune moves into the stratosphere -- though the circular groove eventually returns. "Yo Chavez" is a mysterious Rhodes tone poem, but Dayes' brushed, skittering snare and kick drum accents add earth to air.

Closer "Joint 17” is a summery bubbler led by cracking breaks and bass, with Williams' Rhodes and synths stitching soul-tinged fills and runs to the changes. Dayes' drumming draws the listener down into the trio's canny polyrhythmic interplay. The music on Black Focus should attract fans of Flying Lotus, Thundercat, and Kamasi Washington (in particular, his Throttle Elevator Music project), but these ferences are aesthetic, not literal. Yussef Kamaal forge a distinct sound here. With South London peers Theon Cross Trio, Ezra Collective, and Blue Lab Beats, they reflect a compelling scene rife with exciting ideas in cultural and sonic cross-pollination. Black Focus is a hell of a first effort.

And also features Gordon Wedderburn a good friend of JSM on 2 tracks.

Main Review by Thom Jurek 

It's in my musical bracket as so so cool,music from now !!!!!!!

Aja "Ketch A Vibe"

Common - Black America Again

Release Date :  November 4 

Label : Artium/Def Jam 

Avaliable on Vinyl & Digital Downloads

Commons new album called Black America Again

It includes the previously released Love Star,” which features Marsha Ambrosius and PJ, and the album's title track, which includes a guest spot from Stevie Wonder. The three new songs (“Letter to the Free,” “The Day the Women Took Over,” and “A Little Chicago Boy”) that Common performed at the White House with Robert Glasper and Bilal are on the album as well. The Internet’s Syd, John Legend, and BJ the Chicago Kid also contribute to Black America Again.  

One of my favs of 2016 (Aja Ketch A Vibe)

Playlist :

01 Joy and Peace [ft. Bilal] 
02 Home [ft. Bilal] 
03 Word From Moe Luv Interlude
04 Black American Again [ft. Stevie Wonder] 
05 Love Star [ft. Marsha Ambrosius & PJ] 
06 On a Whim Interlude
07 Red Wine [ft. Syd & Elena] 
08 Pyramids 
09 A Moment In the Sun Interlude 
10 Unfamiliar [ft. PJ] 
11 A Bigger Picture Called Free [ft. Syd & Bilal] 
12 The Day Women Took Over [ft. BJ the Chicago Kid] 
13 Rain [ft. John Legend] 
14 Little Chicago Boy [ft. Tasha Cobbs] 
15 Letter To the Free [ft. Bilal] 

Abigoba -Quantum Jazz Collapsing

Release Date :October 2016

Label :Feverdog

Formats : Vinyl & Digital Downloads

The project contains 8 tracks in total with 2 brand new creations
Quantum Jazz Collapsing & Origines 2016 (feat. Nora Kamm)

So if you want to fill your life with some truly beautiful jazz get this album.

Simply put on your headphones close your eyes and drift away to the next dimension.

Aja Ketch A Vibe (UK)

The track list :
01 Quantum Jazz Collapsing(feat. intro By Erik Truffaz)
02 Urban Jazz Pressure Cooker 2016 (feat. Eric Prost)
03 Origines 2016 (feat. Nora Kamm)
04 Chinatown Obsession (Acoustic Version feat. China Moses)
05 San Wan Hotel
06 What Is The Link (Live Périscope feat. Marine Pellegrini)
07 Darwin's Nightmare (Live Jazz à Vienne feat. Sabine Kouli)
08 In A Silent Day